MAMOYO QUEEN OF NUST

By Kenneth Moyo| 

Terai Moyo was crowned Miss NUST 2017 after shrugging off stiff competition from 13 other contestants during a pageant held at the university on Saturday.TERAI MOYO

The second year Journalism and Media studies student walked away with $250, dinner for two at Holiday Inn and a modelling and grooming course from Open Eye Studio. The studio is owned by former Miss Zimbabwe Samantha Tshuma who was one of the judges.

The first princess Tendai Sibanda walked away with $200 and a grooming scholarship by Sarah Mpofu’s Fingers Academy. The second princess Thelma Ncube got $150 plus a grooming scholarship from AM model management run by Amanda Mutangadura. As a bonus all three winners walked away with a makeover courtesy of Real Hair by Lorraine Studio run by former Miss Zimbabwe Lorraine Maphala. On top of that they were awarded with makeup hampers from Black Opal.

Miss Personality Samkelisumusa Makombe and People’s Choice MitchelleChikwengo each received $100.

It was second time lucky for Moyo who entered the same pageant last year but unfortunately was knocked out in the last rounds.“I entered the contest last year as I made it to the top five and I didn’t make it. I wasn’t disheartened and decided to enter the pageant this year and I was determined that I was going to win and I did,” said Moyo shortly after being crowned at the Nust ceremonial hall.

“I’m elated for winning. It’s always been a dream for me to win as I follow fervently Victoria Secret Models and I loved it.  I wished one day that I can become a queen like today.

Leave a Reply

