CHRONICLES OF A GRADUATE

It’s common knowledge that getting a Degree, Masters or PhD requires hard work and commitment.  Anyway, it is meant to be.

Some even say that if you’re not up all night working or skipping meals, you’re doing it wrong. But while Degree, Masters or PhD students are not so naive as to enter the program expecting an easy ride, there is a cost to the endeavor that no one talks about: a psychological one.

‘The days I spent pursuing my PhD in physics were some of my darkest’, said a PhD holder. ‘It wasn’t the intellectual challenges or the workload that brought me down; it was my deteriorating mental health. I felt unsupported, and adrift in uncertainty. Anxiety attacks became a part of my daily life. Day in and day out I started thinking that maybe I was not cut out for this, my Masters was enough for me’.

People say it is worth every sweat, cent and you have to commit 100 percent, but what about the mental breakdowns, the fatigue, depression, anxiety and the headaches. All around the world graduates suffer from one thing or another because of too much reading or confusion at times but it is all worth it at the end because they do get jobs unlike in Zimbabwe where a person has to struggle or wait 5 or more years to get employed.

It has been reported that 53% of academics in the United Kingdom suffer from mental illness.
 

Leave a Reply

